Friday, 14 March 2008

If you like Hesperus...

... you'll probably like all sorts of other things, like tea and stately homes and kittens. But chances are you might also be interested in Capuchin Classics. As Hesperus Week draws to a close (the prize draw tomorrow, and maybe a sneak peek at what Hesperus have coming up in the future... no, I'm not on their payroll, honest) we'll look a little further afield for publishers doing something similar. I'm sure the lovely people at Hesperus wouldn't begrudge us getting some books elsewhere, at least not when we've read all the dozens and dozens they have to offer...

Just a brief bit on Capuchin Classics today, as there'll hopefully be an interview here with the (metaphorical) doyenne of those white-and-mint covers, which I feel are going to become very familiar. Their slogan is "Books to keep alive" and they profess to 'offer the booklover a range of reprints of outstanding works which have undeservedly been forgotten or are not easily available in the British market, alongside a choice of literary favourites which are themselves in the classic genre'.


What's not to love?

Their first titles are Plain Tales from the Hills by Rudyard Kipling; An Error of Judgement by Pamela Hansford Johnson; On Horseback and other stories by Guy de Maupassant, and The Green Hat by Michael Arlen. Introduction-writers include Griff Rhys Jones and Ann Widdecombe. I've not read any of those works, but all sound like they'd be right up my street - and hopefully yours. Capuchin Classics have gone for that Persephone Books-ideal i.e. books which are instantly recognisable as a set, and will inspire collection-mania in the avid reader... just feast your eyes.

So, as I say, an interview to tell us more will be coming soon, but for now why not have a look at their website, and order a catalogue?

Any other publishers to recommend to Hesperus lovers?

5 comments:

  1. What a find, Simon! How did you discover them? I've signed up for the catalogue and newsletter and eagerly await them.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ah, I should have said - a blog visitor, and member of a literary list I'm on, Sibylle, recommended them. They've only just launched, so we're in at the beginning!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Peter the Flautist16 March 2008 14:05

    How about Dedalus books? It was recently saved by one of the largest publishing conglomerates, "Taylor and Francis", via their Routledge Books imprint.

    Have a look at their website. I think SIAB readers will find it of interest (I'm probably teaching grandparents to suck eggs!): http://www.dedalusbooks.com/index.html

    Dark Puss

    ReplyDelete
  4. They look absoutely edible ... and readable, of course.

    ReplyDelete
  5. DP - what a great site, I hadn't learnt to suck eggs in that respect yet! Books in translation are always fascinating, mostly because I think "wow, if someone hadn't bothered translating this, I'd never have the chance to read it." I will be back to investigate more...

    ReplyDelete

Thanks so much for taking the time to comment - my favourite part of blogging is reading your comments!

Annoyingly, Blogger often messes up with comments... try refreshing, or commenting Anonymously (add your name in, though!) or using Firefox/Chrome instead of Internet Explorer. (Ctrl+c your comment first!)

Failing everything, email me: simondavidthomas[at]yahoo.co.uk - or just email me anyway :)

Thanks!